Save energy with winter vegetables

January 06, 2023

There are many good reasons why we should also eat winter vegetables in winter. Here are some of them:

1. Winter vegetables are typically rich in vitamins and minerals that are important for a balanced diet.
2. Winter vegetables tend to be fresh and seasonal, which means they take less time to ship.
3. Winter vegetables can help add variety to the diet and offer new flavors.
4. Winter vegetables can help you eat healthier, especially in the cold season, and thus reduce the risk of colds and other illnesses.

For the producer, however, there is another very important point at the moment when producing this type of vegetable and that is the less energy that is required for it.
A few numbers:
Depending on the region, the sun supplies us with around 1100-1400 kWh/m2 in Austria. If we divide the year, this energy is about 3 times as high in the months April-September compared to October to March.
But when it comes to heating, the most important factor is the temperature difference between outside and inside, especially when the sun is definitely not shining, namely at night. Then there is unfortunately no greenhouse effect and since the days are shorter in winter, the calculation is primarily based on this difference.

This is not intended to be a scientific treatise, but only to give an order of magnitude, because of course greenhouse technology has become more advanced in recent decades and the saving of energy through multiple glazing, air cushions in the films, newer screen fabric and much more have of course brought savings and are therefore yes also been promoted. But no matter how the balance sheet looks at the moment, you have to look at the following ratio:

Average temperatures Vienna [°C]
January: 0
February: 1
March: 6
Apr: 10

Difference [K] at heating temperature of 19°C
January: 19
February: 18
March: 13
Apr: 9

Of course only the approximate figures of an assumed example. They don't even take into account the lengthening days, but show an order of magnitude of energy consumption (more than twice as much in January than in April) and why winter vegetables are more ecological and economical from this point of view.

So it's definitely worth doing some strategic thinking about it.
If you would like more detailed evaluations of how such decisions could be relevant to your facility or would like support in implementing a culture change, then contact us. We are happy to help!

You might also be interested in:

Automatisierte Regelungen im Gartenbau

Automated controls in horticulture

Plants not only ensure our survival but also beautify it, and it is gardeners who bring this to civilization on a large scale. Therefore, this profession clearly has a special status in a growing...

read more
Der korrekte Druck im System

The correct pressure in the system

The right design for irrigation is essential for problem-free function and an important key here is the correct dimensioning for the water pressure used. Depending on the system, you have to have the right pressure on the actual irrigation element....

read more
Cabrio in den Niederlanden

Convertible in the Netherlands

Dinteloord is a village in the Dutch province of Noord-Brabant. Dinteloord is known for its sugar factory and the Muza festivals that have been held for over 50 years. For several years, however, it has also been home to a relatively new horticultural area in the area,...

read more
en_US
Share This

share

Is this article interesting for someone else?

Energie sparen mit Wintergemüse

Januar 06, 2023

Es gibt viele gute Gründe, warum wir im Winter auch Wintergemüse essen sollten. Hier sind einige davon:

1. Wintergemüse ist in der Regel reich an Vitaminen und Mineralstoffen, die wichtig für eine ausgewogene Ernährung sind.
2. Wintergemüse ist in der Regel frisch und saisonal, was bedeutet, dass es weniger lange transportiert werden muss.
3. Wintergemüse kann helfen, Abwechslung in die Ernährung zu bringen und neue Geschmacksrichtungen bieten.
4. Wintergemüse kann helfen, sich im vor allem in der kalten Jahreszeit gesünder zu ernähren und damit das Risiko von Erkältungen und anderen Krankheiten zu verringern.

Für den Produzenten gibt es aber noch einen gerade derzeit sehr wesentlich Punkt dabei, diese Art von Gemüse zu produzieren und das ist die dafür weniger aufzuwendende Energie.
Dazu ein paar Zahlen:
Die Sonne liefert uns in Österreich je nach Region etwa 1100-1400 kWh/m2. Diese Energie ist, wenn wir das Jahr teilen, in den Monaten April-September gegenüber Oktober bis März von der Energiemenge etwa 3x so hoch.
Wenn es aber um das Heizen geht, dann ist der wesentlichste Faktor die Temperaturdifferenz zwischen draußen und drinnen interessant, vor allem dann, wenn sicher keine Sonne scheint, nämlich in der Nacht. Dann gibt es leider auch keinen Treibhauseffekt und da die Tage im Winter kürzer sind stützt sich die Rechnung in erster Linie eben auf diese Differenz.

Dies hier soll keine wissenschaftlich Abhandlung sein sondern nur eine Größenordnung geben, denn natürlich ist die Gewächshaustechnik in den letzten Jahrzehnten fortschrittlicher geworden und die Einsparung der Energie durch Mehrfachverglasung, Luftpolster in den Folien, neuere Schirmgewebe und vieles mehr, haben natürlich Einsparungen gebracht und sind deswegen ja auch gefördert worden. Egal aber wie die Bilanz derzeit aussieht, muss man sich folgendes Verhältnis ansehen:

Durchschnittstemperaturen Wien [°C]
Jänner: 0
Februar: 1
März: 6
April: 10

Differenz [K] bei Heizungstemperatur von 19°C
Jänner: 19
Februar: 18
März: 13
April: 9

Natürlich nur das nur ungefähre Zahlen eines angenommenen Beispiels. Sie berücksichtigen noch nicht mal die länger werdenden Tage, zeigen aber eine Größenordnung des Energieverbrauchs (mehr als 2x so viel im Jänner als im April) und warum gerade von diesem Gesichtspunkt aus Wintergemüse ökologischer und ökonomischer ist.

Es lohnt sich also bestimmt, strategische Überlegungen dazu anzustellen.
Möchten Sie genauere Evaluierungen haben, wie solche Entscheidungen bei Ihrer Anlage relevant sein könnten oder Unterstützung bei der Umsetzung eines Kulturwechsels, dann kontaktieren Sie uns. Wir beraten Sie gerne!

Das könnte Sie ebenfalls interessieren:

Automatisierte Regelungen im Gartenbau

Automatisierte Regelungen im Gartenbau

Pflanzen sorgen nicht nur für unser Überleben, sondern verschönern es dazu auch noch und es sind Gärtner, die dies im großen Rahmen in die Zivilisation einbringen. Deswegen hat dieser Berufszweig eindeutig einen besonderen Stellenwert in einer größer werdenden...

mehr lesen
Der korrekte Druck im System

Der korrekte Druck im System

Die richtige Auslegung bei Bewässerungen ist essentiell für eine problemlose Funktion und ein wichtiger Schlüssel dabei ist die korrekte Bemessung für den eingesetzten Wasserdruck. Je nach System muss man am eigentlichen Bewässerungselement den passenden Druck haben....

mehr lesen
Cabrio in den Niederlanden

Cabrio in den Niederlanden

Dinteloord ist ein Dorf in der niederländischen Provinz Nordbrabant. Dinteloord ist bekannt für seine Zuckerfabrik und die seit über 50 Jahren stattfindenden Muza-Festivals. Seit einigen Jahren beherbergt es in der Umgebung aber auch ein relativ neues Gartenbaugebiet,...

mehr lesen
de_DE
Teile das

Teilen

Ist dieser Artikel für jemand anderen interessant?